How to Show or Hide Recent Searches on Windows 11 when Hovering Over the Search Icon?

How do I enable or disable recent searches on Windows 11 when hovering over the Search icon? Windows 11 comes with a lot of features, and out of those, one is search history. Windows 11 stores search history, and when you hover the mouse over its search icon on the taskbar, it will be visible. This means you don’t need to search the same apps again and again to launch it. Once you search the app on Windows search, it will remember, and you can launch that app by hovering over the Search icon and then clicking on that app.

Although Search history is a pretty nice feature on Windows 11, unfortunately, it only remembers the latest three searches. As soon as you launch the fourth application by searching through the Search button, it will forget the first fourth program.

Although Search history is a handy feature, you might have turned it off by mistake or want to disable it purposely; this gearupwindows article will help you. In this post, we will guide you with both options, enabling and disabling the search history feature on Windows 11.

How to Enable or Disable Recent Searches on Windows 11 when Hovering Over the Search Icon?

To turn on or turn off recent searches history on Windows 11, perform the following steps:-

Step 1. Launch the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys simultaneously from the keyboard.

Step 2. In the Settings window that opens, click on the Personalization category from the left side pane.

Step 3. On the right side of Personalization, please scroll down to see the Taskbar tab and click on it.

Step 4. Now, click on the Taskbar behaviors option.

Step 5. Check the checkbox labeled with Show recent searches when I hover over the search icon. If you wish not to show the search history while hovering the mouse over the search icon, uncheck the option Show recent searches when I hover over the search icon.

Once you have enabled or disabled the search history feature on your PC, you can close the Settings app. These changes are immediate, which means there is no need to restart your computer or laptop after changing the settings.

Leave a Reply