How to Switch User in Windows 11?

Switch User function is available on Windows 11 for those who work on a shared computer. That means when more than one user account is available on a single PC; the Switch User is handy. Switch user functionality helps you switch between accounts without signing out from your account or closing apps and files. Your sessions, including opened apps and files/folders, are preserved. When you switch back to your previous account, you can resume from where you left off.

Please note that if someone is remotely connected to your computer will not see this fast user switching. This feature is disabled in Remote Desktop Connection. Further, we suggest you save your work before switching to another account. Because any user account who has logged into your PC can shut down or restart the computer, that means you may lose the unsaved work of your account.

Several ways are available on Windows 11 to switch users. We will review them one by one.

How to Switch User from the Start menu?

Step 1. Click on the Start button on the taskbar or press the Windows key from the keyboard to open the Start menu.

Step 2. Then click on the profile image and select the account you want to switch to on the list.

How to Switch Accounts from the Shut Down Windows dialog?

Step 1. Minimize (User shortcut keys Windows + D) or close all the opened applications/files/folders.

Step 2. Then press the ALT + F4 keys on your keyboard to invoke a Shut Down Windows dialog.

Step 3. Now, select Switch user and then click OK.

How to Switch Users using CTRL + ALT + DEL keyboard shortcut?

To switch users on Windows 11, use keyboard shortcut CTRL + ALT + DEL. On the Windows that appear, select Switch user.

That’s it!

Leave a Reply