How do I Stop Windows 11 from Automatically Connecting to Wi-Fi?

Windows 11 comes with specific features that allow you to connect to a Wi-Fi network automatically. If you need, you can stop this behavior so that your Windows will not connect automatically to certain Wi-Fi networks. In this gearupwindows article, we will guide you with complete steps to prevent Windows 11 from automatically connecting to a Wi-Fi network that was previously connected.

Once you configure the particular Wi-Fi network not to connect automatically, Windows will still remember your Wi-Fi password, but it will not connect automatically when your computer is in range. Your PC will be connected to that Wi-Fi network only when you manually initiate it. This feature is handy if you’ve previously connected to a public Wi-Fi network but don’t want to reconnect automatically next time when in range.

How to Prevent Windows 11 from Automatically Connecting to a Wi-Fi network using Quick Settings?

As said above, Windows 11 automatically connects to a previously joined Wi-Fi network every time it’s in range. However, if you need, you can prevent it.

Step 1. First, disconnect the particular Wi-Fi network if you’re already connected to it.

To do that, click on the Quick Settings area on the taskbar, select the Wi-Fi you’re connected to, and then click the Disconnect button.

Step 2. After disconnecting the Wi-Fi, uncheck the checkbox beside Connect automatically.

That’s it. Select and click the Connect button whenever you want to connect to that Wi-Fi network again.

How to Disable Automatic Connection to Wi-Fi in Windows 11 using Settings App?

Above mentioned procedure works well, but when you’re not in range of a specific network, you will be unable to see that on the Wi-Fi connection panel in the Quick Settings menu. Hence, you will need to go through the Settings app to edit the connection behavior.

Step 1. First, open the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys from the keyboard.

Step 2. When Windows Settings opens, select Network & internet from the left sidebar.

Step 3. Then, on the right-side pane, click the Wi-Fi header.

Step 4. After that, click on Manage known networks.

Step 5. That’s it. Here, you’ll see all the Wi-Fi networks you’ve connected to in the past. Find the Wi-Fi network and click on that you don’t want to join automatically.

Step 6. Finally, uncheck the box beside Connect automatically when in range.

That’s it. You can close the Settings app if you don’t have any other job to perform. Changes will be saved automatically.

Next time when that Wi-Fi network is in range, it will not connect automatically. However, if you wish, you can connect them manually.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: