How to increase or decrease Recycle Bin storage settings on Windows 11/10/8/7?

On all versions of Windows, including Windows 11/10/8/7, the Recycle Bin provides a preventive measure when you delete files or folders. When you delete any file or folder from your hard disk, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin, and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full. If you ever need them back, you can restore one or multiple files from the Recycle Bin.

If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each location will have its own $Recycle.Bin and Recycle Bin settings. Removable drives, such as USB flash drives and memory cards, will not have a Recycle Bin. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted.

Depending on the partition size, only five to fifteen percent of space is reserved for storing deleted files or folders. As space fills up, Windows will start erasing the oldest files to make room to welcome new deletions, reducing the number of files you can recover.

If you like keeping all your deleted files in the Recycle Bin as a shelter, you can increase the maximum storage size for the Recycle Bin.

However, it is also possible to decrease the maximum allocated size for Recycle Bin if you are running out of storage. It is possible to adjust the settings to change the maximum storage size to increase or decrease the number of files you can restore, remove files neglecting the Recycle Bin, and even add a confirmation dialog to prevent accidental deletions.

This post will show the steps to manage the Recycle Bin settings to change the maximum hard drive space used to store deleted files. You will also learn to remove files or folders immediately after deletion and steps to enable the confirmation dialog to prevent accidental deletions by reading the article.

How to increase or decrease Recycle Bin storage settings on Windows 11/10/8/7?

If you want to adjust the amount of storage of Recycle Bin, perform the following steps:-

Step 1. Right-click the Recycle Bin icon, and select the Properties option to open Recycle Bin Properties box (Refer to our guide to add Recycle Bin icon on the desktop of Windows 11/10 if it is missing on your PC desktop).

Step 2. Select the Recycle Bin location you want to configure. Under the “Settings for selected location” section, select the Custom size option. In the “Maximum size (MB)” field, specify the maximum hard drive space in the megabyte that Recycle Bin can use on the particular partition. For instance, if you have a 100GB partition and want to set Recycle Bin to use 5GB of space, you need to specify 5120 megabytes because 1GB is equal to 1024 megabytes.

Quick Note: If you have multiple partitions on your Windows PC and want to adjust the storage for Recycle Bin, you have to perform the above steps for all partitions one by one.

Step 3. Click the Apply and then the OK button.

Once you complete the above steps, the Recycle Bin will store more or fewer deleted files or folders on the selected partition, depending on your configuration.

Quick Note: While each partition of internal hard disk configured on your machine has its own Recycle Bin, however, removable drives like SD cards and USB flash drives do not have, which means once you delete files on portable devices, they will be erased permanently. You need to use recovery software to retrieve deleted files from portable devices.

How to delete files immediately without sending them to Recycle Bin?

If you don’t want to send the deleted files or folders to Recycle bin, in other words, you want to delete the file permanently from your PC, perform the following steps to configure the Recycle Bin on Windows 10/8/7:-

Step 1. Right-click the Recycle Bin icon, and select the Properties option to open Recycle Bin Properties box.

Step 2. Select the Recycle Bin location that you want to configure.

Step 3. In the “Settings for selected location” section, select the option “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted” option.

Step 4. Click the Apply then the OK button.

If you have multiple partitions, you need to repeat the above steps.

Once you complete the above steps, deleted files/folders will not be stored anymore on the Recycle Bin that means once you delete and file or folder, it will be deleted permanently from your PC.

Quick Note: You can also apply the Shift + Del/Delete keyboard shortcut keys after selecting a file or folder to permanently delete the file/folder from your Windows PC.

How to display a confirmation dialog before deleting files on Windows 11/10/8/7?

If you want to display a confirmation dialog box before deleting the file and sending them to the Recycle Bin, use the following steps:-

Step 1. Perform a right-click on the Recycle Bin icon, and select the Properties option to open Recycle Bin Properties.

Step 2. Select the Recycle Bin location that you want to configure.

Step 3. Check the option “Display delete confirmation dialog.”

Quick Note: If you uncheck the option “Display delete confirmation dialog” when you delete a file or folder, the confirmation dialog box will not appear. That means, depending upon the configuration of the Recycle Bin, it will be moved without prompt to Recycle Bin or will be deleted permanently from your PC.

Step 4. Click the Apply button.

Step 5. Click the OK button.

Once you complete the above steps, every time you delete a file/folder, you’ll get a confirmation dialog before sending them to the Recycle Bin.

That’s all!!!

Leave a Reply