How to Add or Remove Chat Button from Windows 11 Taskbar?

How do I  remove the Chat button from Windows 11 Taskbar? Microsoft is rolling out the Chat application, and it directly sits on the Windows 11 taskbar. By clicking on the Chat icon on the taskbar, you can quickly chat with your friends using Microsoft Teams app using text messages, voice, or video calls. All you need to do that click on the Chat button and start a conversation.

Although this Chat feature is suitable for most Windows 11 users, they may not like to clutter the taskbar with unnecessary or unwanted apps and services. Microsoft also introduced Widgets in Windows 11 that also occupies an icon in the taskbar by default. Now Microsoft tries to force Windows 11 users to use Microsoft Teams Chat app. Although it is possible to uninstall the Chat app from your PC completely, if you just want to remove its icon from the taskbar and continue using it, this gearupwindows article will help you.

How to Remove Chat Button from Taskbar in Windows 11?

Simply right-click on the Microsoft Teams icon on the taskbar and select Hide from taskbar option. Now, to use the Chat app, you can use the shortcut keys Windows + C.

The above-mentioned method is the quickest way to remove the Chat button in Windows 11, but you need to take the help of the Settings app to add this icon back on your PC.

How to Add or Remove Chat Button from Taskbar in Windows 11?

To enable or disable the chat button from Windows 11 Taskbar, do the following steps:-

Step 1. Open the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys simultaneously from the keyboard and then click on the Personalization category from the left side pane.

Step 2. On the right side window of Personalization, please scroll down to find the Taskbar tab and then click on it.

Step 3. Under the Taskbar items section, please turn off or turn on the toggle button next to the Chat option to add or remove its icon from Windows 11 taskbar quickly. The changes are immediate, which means there is no need to restart your PC. Once the changes are done, you can close the settings app.

Leave a Reply