How to Turn On/Off Reopening Previous Applications after Restarting Windows 11/10 PC?

Windows 11 and Windows 10 allow you to restore previous opened Folders at Logon. This is a good option when you shut down or sign out from your machine without completing the job. You don’t have to remember which folder you were working on. That means your Windows PC will remember which folders you had opened before shutting down your PC.

Everything is fine, but what about opened applications. Is any way to restore the applications on Windows 11/10 to restore it after restarting my computer. Yes, an option is available on Windows 11 and Windows 10 to remember the opened application. Next time you will boot into your computer, all applications will be restored automatically on your desktop. Now, you can continue where you had left.

Quick Note: Similar features are available on all modern browsers, including Opera, Edge, Chrome, and Firefox. These browsers let you reopen previously opened tabs.

Both Windows 11 and Windows 10 allow you to enable or disable the saving of restartable apps. Here is how?

How to Enable or Disable Reopening Previous Applications after Restarting Windows 11 PC?

Step 1. Open Settings app.

Step 2. When Windows Settings open, click on the Accounts from the left sidebar.

Step 3. Select Sign-in options from the right sidebar.

Step 4. Now, scroll down to the right side pane and find the “Automatically save my restartable apps and restart them when I sign back in” option. Turn On the toggle switch to enable this feature. To disable this feature, flip the toggle switch to the Off position.

That’s it. You can close the Settings app now. All the changes will be saved automatically.

How to Turn On/Off Reopening Previous Applications after Restarting Windows 10 PC?

Step 1. Open Settings app.

Step 2. Click Accounts category when Windows Settings opens.

Step 3. Under the Accounts settings page, click the Sign-in options from the left sidebar.

Step 4. On the right-sidebar, scroll down to find the Restart apps section. Here, turn the toggle switch On position next to the “Automatically save my restartable apps when I sign out and restart them after I sign in” option.

That’s it. No more changes are required. You can close the settings app.

To test if this feature is working, open a few apps, and then, without closing them restart your computer. When you log in to your account, you should all the previously opened applications on your desktop.

Leave a Reply